Healing Using Colours


In colour there is life … colour could very well be the most magnificent experience we take for granted.


Is it not true that we instinctively gravitate towards light and shun darkness? Do we not crave for sunlight during long winter months? Also, don’t we all already know that light is a crucial energy source in our lives and is often equated with life? What we tend to forget is that light travels with other energy sources and is truly a source of nutrition for the body. More specifically, every colour that is part of the colour spectrum has its own wavelength and vibrates at a particular frequency.

Interestingly, if we think about it, light is the only source of energy we can see. Pranic healing—a new-age healing methodology that channels prana or energy from the surrounding environment to cure ailments both physical and mental—uses an array of colours for its healing purposes.

Premised on the notion that the body is capable of healing itself, pranic healing re-routes prana through the afflicted area so as to energize the depleted aura. Given this, prana enters the body through different chakras. Essentially understood as energy centres, these chakras facilitate the entry and movement of prana through the body.
The Different Chakras and Their Colours
There are seven primary chakras in our body, namely, the root chakra, sacral chakra, solar plexus chakra, heart chakra, throat chakra, third eye chakra, and crown chakra. While commonly understood as a wheel, a chakra is actually a triangle which is located at those points at which nadis meet. No two chakras are ever the same either in function or intensity and different people benefit from it differently at various levels.

The Chakras and Their Colours
The colour of a chakra is the yardstick that determines the health of a chakra. While a healthy chakra will be vibrant, a depleted chakra will carry large patches of grey. Here is a brief discussion of the colour that has been attributed (clairvoyantly) to its corresponding chakra.

The root chakra: Located at the base of the spine, in many ways this is the most important as it is concerned with our physical well-being. This is the chakra that influences our survival response. The frequency at which this vibrates is red. Regarded as warm and vital, red loosens up stiffened areas; furthermore, known as the ‘great energizer’ and rightfully so it is responsible for the release of adrenalin in our body.

When to use it: On a day that you know your stamina will be tested, wear red to connect yourself wholly with your physical body.

Sacral Chakra: Located between the naval and the base of the spine, this chakra is associated with the lower abdomen, kidneys, the reproductive, and the circulatory system. The frequency at which this vibrates is orange. Regarded as the ‘ray of wisdom’, orange helps relieve tension, thereby freeing the mind and body. A combination of red and yellow, this colour fuses physical energy with mental wisdom.

When to use it: Because this is the colour of confidence, wear it as often as you can as it will positively impact those around you as well.

Solar Plexus Chakra: Located a few inches above the navel, this chakra is associated with the digestive system, pancreas, adrenals, and muscle. The frequency at which this vibrates is yellow. This is the colour that helps strengthen the mind and can be used for conditions that are related to the stomach, kidney, and liver.

When to use it: To achieve higher mental stimulation use yellow as it enables clarity of thought, mental agility, and heightened awareness.

Heart Chakra: Located at the centre of the chest or within the heart, this is concerned with harmony, peace, and compassion. The frequency at which this vibrates is green. Opposed to popular belief, green is the universal colour of healing as it contains both the spiritual and physical essence of nature.

When to use it: As this is the colour of non-resistance, harmony, and nature, green helps calm the body and mind and is useful for those with a heart problem.

Throat Chakra: Located within the throat, this chakra is associated with communication, self-expression, and judgement. The frequency at which this vibrates is blue and is regarded as one of the greatest ‘natural antiseptics’. Because it is naturally inclined to enable cooling, blue is used to stall inflammation and bleeding

When to use it: As it links with the throat chakra, combined with the cooling qualities of blue, the overall effect of the energy centre is quite powerful.

Third Eye Chakra: Located at the centre of the forehead or a little above the eye level, this is also known as the Brow Chakra. The frequency at which this vibrates is indigo. Regarded as a purifying agent, it is used to purify the bloodstream.

When to use it: Due to its cool, astringent-like properties, it is used to soothe mental problems, especially if one is feeling disconnected with ones surroundings.

Crown Chakra: Located at the top of the head, this influences the central nervous system and the cerebral cortex. The frequency at which this vibrates is violet. Regarded as the ‘colour of the divine spirit’, this is the last colour we see before light becomes ultra-violet and is known to be an good remedy for neurosis and other scalp-related diseases.

When to use it: To enhance artistic talent and creativity along with establishing a link with our higher, spiritual self.

Given this, is it not a wonder as to how we are made up of so many different elements, compositions, hues, and vibrations? Clearly, we are infinitely more than bones, organs, and flesh. We are living, pulsating bodies in tune with our surroundings. In many ways this integration with other energy bodies is the essence of pranic healing and is essential in preserving the meaning and quality of life. In other words colours as a alive as the rest of rest, not only are they associated with specific healing properties, they also tie up with our emotions, thereby influencing us more deeply than we can see or imagine

You might also like More from author

Leave A Reply